The Foundation’s Board comprises a maximum of seven members, elected to serve terms of four years, with the option of extending their tenure to a maximum of six years. The collaboration of CO-OP members with ROTOS is crucial to leveraging specialized expertise. These individuals are chosen by the Board based on their demonstrated knowledge and experience levels.

‘ROTOS was not built in a day.’ It was the hands and hard work of several people who built, shaped and grew the ROTOS Foundation.



The photo shows a woman smiling to the camera.

Professor Alison Laver Fawcett is Professor in the School of Science, Technology and Health at York St John University, York, UK where she teaches undergraduate and pre-registration Masters occupational therapy students, in addition to supervising Masters and Doctoral students and delivering Continuing Professional Development for qualified occupational therapists. Alison’s research is clinically orientated, focussing on occupational therapy assessment and outcome measurement and occupational therapy for people with dementia and their carers. She has developed the Structural Observational Test of Function (SOTOF) and the Activity Card Sort – United Kingdom version (ACS-UK). She is author of the text book ‘Principles of Occupational Therapy for Occupational Therapists and Physiotherapists: theory, skills and application’



The photo shows a woman smiling to the camera.

Dr. Margo J. van Hartingsveldt is Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy at the Faculty of Health at the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences, Amsterdam and is affiliated with the BSc OT and the European MSc in OT. Margo graduated from the Bachelor OT in 1983 and holds a Master of Science in Allied Healthcare as well as a PhD. During her career she has been committed to enhance the field of OT and OS by bridging the gap between research, education, and its practical application. She contributed to the national development of OT in the Netherlands and is the first author of the Dutch OT profile and is co-editor of the last three editions of the Dutch OT textbook. Hence, she has contributed the research field with more than 30 International peer-reviewed publications, more than 30 conferences/ seminares during the past 5 years and collaborating in 6 books for Occupational therapists. Her professorship is about Participation and Environment..



The photo shows a woman smiling to the camera.

Dr Daphne Kos joined the ROTOS Board in 2020 as Acting Vice Chair and Secretary. During her career Daphne has worked as a practitioner, lecturer and researcher. Her PhD was a study of fatigue management and assessment in people with multiple sclerosis. Daphne is coordinator of scientific research in the rehabilitation department of the National MS Center Melsbroek and professor and co-manager of the OT master program in KU Leuven. She continues to research in the area of neurological rehabilitation. Daphne is current president of the international network for best practice and research in Rehabilitation in MS (RIMS) and a board member of the Belgian Society for Neurological Rehabilitation (BSNR).



Women smiling to the camera

Ms. Naomi Hankinson (UK) former Vice President of COTEC. She is also a Trustee of the Elizabeth Casson Trust and Mental Health Matters. Her current professional roles are Consultant in health and social care and Associate Mental Health Act Manager for the Cambian Group. As an occupational therapist, she has worked as a clinician, manager, and clinical leader within mental health services. She has always had a strong focus on workforce and leadership, believing that if we value, develop and equip our staff effectively we will ensure good services for our users and communities. Naomi was Chair of the College of Occupational Therapists (COT) from 2009 to 2013 and then undertook the role of Chair of the COT Audit committee from 2013 – 2016.



The photo shows a woman smiling to the camera.Mss. Sandra Sánchez Viramalay is an Occupational Therapist graduated in 2018 from ‘Universidad Complutense de Madrid’ (Spain). Her experience as former treasure of the ‘Asociación de Alumnas de Terapia Ocupacional’ (AATO) in her University and as an Occupational therapist’s content creator on social media (@elretodelato) leaded her to join the ROTOS Foundation in June 2023.  Mss Sánchez Viramalay is currently studying the Master in Research with a Major in Occupational Therapy from Jönköping University to further develop her career as an OT.



Woman smiling at the cameraLisette Farias Vera is an Assistant Professor at the Division of Occupational Therapy at KI. Lisette is involve with many organisation as a Board Member of the European Network of Occupational Therapy in Higher Education (ENOTHE), a Faculty member of the European Master of Science in Occupational Therapy, Academic Adjunct Professor at Dalhousie University Master of Science in Occupational Science, and Associate Editor of the Journal of Occupational Science. She is also a registered Occupational Therapist in Chile and Sweden with work experience in both countries.





The photo shows a woman smiling to the camera.

María Alonso-Ferreira has been an elected member of the Occupational Science Europe Board since 2021 but has been contributing to the network since 2017 as a member of the Social Media Committee.
From the beginning of her career she had an interest in subjects relating to social and occupational justice, vulnerable populations, gender studies, migrations and social policies. In the present time, she is working as an occupational therapist with asylum seekers and refugees within the Spanish national International Protection system.




Basic-unknow profile picture of a woman.

Dr Sinéad Hynes. 

Translate »
Scroll to Top
Skip to content